Publishers Weekly Praises Ream Shukairy's YA Thriller "Six Truths and a Lie"

Six Muslim teens are falsely accused of a deadly attack in Shukairy's timely and harrowing examination of America’s justice system, perfect for fans of Angie Thomas and Samira Ahmed.

Publishers Weekly Praises Ream Shukairy's YA Thriller "Six Truths and a Lie"
"Six Truths and a Lie" is the highly anticipated second book from Ream Shukairy, whose work has been praised by fellow author S. K. Ali as "real, raw and enthralling."

Six Muslim teenagers face false accusations of a deadly attack during a chaotic Fourth of July celebration in “Six Truths and a Lie” by Ream Shukairy. The book, a YA thriller, is the highly anticipated second novel by Shukairy. Among other acclaim, her debut “The Next New Syrian Girl” was named one of Kirkus’s best YA and teen books of 2023.

“[This book] is for readers who love thriller vibes, mystery and themes of social justice all through the lens of six Muslims teenagers who you’ll do anything for!!” Shukairy wrote on Instagram when the book was announced. “I’m so excited for you to meet these characters and for this book that takes place in my home state of California.”

The book is described as follows on the publisher’s website:

Six Muslim teens are falsely accused of a deadly attack in this timely and harrowing examination of America’s justice system, perfect for fans of Angie Thomas and Samira Ahmed.
As fireworks pop off at a rowdy Fourth of July bonfire party, an explosion off the California coast levels an oil rig — resulting in chaos and worse, murder.
At the center are six Muslim teens — six patriots, six strangers and six suspects.
An old soul caught in the wrong place. An aspiring doctor. An influencer with a reputation to protect. A perfect daughter with secrets to hide. A soccer star headed for Stanford. An immigrant in love. Each with something to hide and everything to lose.
Faced with accusations of terrorism, The Six are caught in a political game that will pit them against each other in exchange for exoneration. They must choose: frame each other to guarantee their own independence or expose their secrets to earn back freedom for them all.

Ahead of its publication, “Six Truths and a Lie” has earned a highly-sought starred review from Publishers Weekly. “Shukairy swings for the fences, breathing life into each of the six leads who narrate this exhilarating read,” the review says. “Interweaving relationships establish a credible and indelible emotional through line, and the story’s resolution is both heartbreaking and stunningly executed.”

Ream Shukairy is a Syrian American raised full‐time in Orange County, California, and part‐time during summers in Syria. She feels at home where her family is and wherever there’s a beach. She has a talent for learning languages and is always on the search for the next place she can travel and flex her words. As the daughter of immigrants, there isn’t a stereotype she won’t try her hardest to defy. She currently resides in Boston for graduate school. “The Next New Syrian Girl” is her debut novel (via Shukairy’s website).

“Six Truths and a Lie” will publish on Mar. 12, 2024. You can preorder your copy at the link below.