Five Children’s Books by Muslim Authors Publishing in October

Five Children’s Books by Muslim Authors Publishing in October

October is a big month for Muslim authors—which is perfect for school reading logs everywhere. Check out these 5 books for kids written by Muslim authors releasing this month.

1. “Hold Them Close: A Love Letter to Black Children” by Jamilah Thompkins-Bigelow (October 4)

Age: 4 to 8

Description from publisher:

When happy things come to you, hold them close and never let go.

From celebrated author of Your Name Is a Song Jamilah Thompkins-Bigelow, fine artist Patrick Dougher, and photographer Jamel Shabazz, Hold Them Close is a picture book celebration of Black past, present, and future—a joyful love letter to Black children.

As affirming as it is touching and warm, Hold Them Close encourages young children to hold close their joy, the words of their ancestors and elders, as well as their power to change the world. A perfect book for shared story time, this book will inspire young people to march forth with pride, glow, and happiness. 

2. “Bhai for Now” by Maleeha Siddiqui (October 4)

Description from publisher:

Ashar is busy with the ice hockey team, studying to get into the best school, and hanging out with his friends.

Shaheer and his father are always moving, following his dad’s jobs. Shaheer has given up hope of finding a place where he can put down roots, a place that feels like home.

The two boys have nothing in common.

But when they meet on Shaheer’s first day at his new school, it’s like looking in a mirror.

They quickly figure out that they’re twins, separated as babies. And they are determined to do whatever it takes—including secretly switching identities—to get to know the parent they’ve been separated from.

This is the story of two long-lost brothers who, while they might not like each other, just might need each other. “Bhai for Now” is by turns heartwarming and hilarious, and with an unforgettable Muslim family and friendship story at its core.

Age: 8 – 12

3. “Marya Khan and the Incredible Henna Party” by Saadia Faruqi (October 18)

Description from author:

Perfect for fans of Ivy & Bean and Dory Fantasmagory, this is the start of a charming new chapter book series about a third-grader whose plans may backfire but whose persistence and heart are inspiring.

Marya’s eighth birthday is coming up in a week, and all she wants is an over-the-top birthday party just like the ones Alexa, her rich neighbor, always throws. When Alexa parades into school with fancy invitations, Marya can’t help herself—she claims that she’s having the most epic henna party ever. Now she has to convince her family to make it happen. Enter Operation Help the Khans! Marya’s siblings clearly need help with their projects. Maybe she could cook dinner for her parents, or clean her grandmother’s room? Except everything Marya does seems to end in disaster. Will Marya and her family be able pull it together and throw the best party ever?!

Age: 6-9

4. “Our World: Egypt” by Aya Khalil (October 18)

Description from publisher:

Come along for a day in Egypt! There’s so much to explore — candy-colored boats, thumping tablas and warm pita bread. Author Aya Khalil and illustrator Magda Azab draw on their personal experience of life in Egypt to create this appealing board book for very young readers.

Age: 3 Months to 4 Years

5. “Hana’s Hundreds of Hijabs” by Razeena Omar Gutta (October 20)

Description from publisher:

Hana has a humongous collection of hijabs and accessories – and her hijab is always styled superbly. But when her overflowing collection gets a little out of hand, Hana knows something needs to be done . . . and comes up with a clever plan for sharing her talents and possessions with her community! Young makers will chuckle along with this humorous tale of creative problem-solving and learning to help others.

Age: 4-9

Great! You’ve successfully signed up.

Welcome back! You've successfully signed in.

You've successfully subscribed to Fann.

Success! Check your email for magic link to sign-in.

Success! Your billing info has been updated.

Your billing was not updated.